Agar, also called agar-agar, is a natural thickener of plant origin. It is obtained from seaweed - red algae. Agar has no smell or taste. It contains many valuable ingredients such as: manganese, magnesium, iron, calcium, sodium and zinc. It is a stronger gelling substance than gelatin. On the labels you will find it under the symbol E-406. Widely used in vegan cooking instead of gelatin.
Agar is used as a gelatin replacement in creams, jellies, mousses, preserves and other products. It dissolves at a temperature of 85-95 degrees Celsius, while it freezes at 32-35 degrees. So you don't have to put it in the fridge. In order to obtain the medium hardness of the gel, the ratio is: 1 flat teaspoon of agar per 1 glass of liquid. Dissolve the agar in a little cold water and add to boiling water, boil for a few minutes. Agar can also be used to make jam. Add 1-1.5 teaspoons of agar for 1.5 kg of fruit and 500 g of sugar. If the resulting consistency is too thick, you can also add water.